Why You Should Change Your Facebook Cover Photo

Most of you Facebook users are familiar with changing your profile picture and you swap it out when you want to express something new about yourself. But what about your business page’s cover photo? Have you changed it since Facebook rolled out its new timeline?

The cover photo on Facebook is like the header photo on your website. It’s the first thing people see when they come to your page and says a lot about you and your business. In fact, it’s the first step toward marketing your business on Facebook.

When choosing your cover photo, think about the message you want to send. Since the page I manage is all about water gardening, I want to showcase the beauty of a water feature in the landscape, and I want that photo to draw the person in and inspire them to add a pond, waterfall, or fountain to their own landscape.

Once you choose your cover photo, make sure that your profile picture complements it since they are shown together at the top of your Facebook timeline. Here’s an example of a creative cover/profile picture combination:

Pretzel Crisp Facebook Cover

To add interest to your Facebook page, update your cover photo from time to time. You could choose to go with seasonal themes, swapping out a summery pond photo for a colorful autumn pond photo. In the winter, a snowy scene works well since it shows your customers the beauty of a waterfall with ice formations. If you don’t have winter photos, try an evening photo of a pond with night lighting that sets a serene scene during the shortened days of winter.

Facebook cover photos are 851 pixels wide by 315 pixels tall. But if you’re clueless when it comes to editing photos, Facebook makes it easier by giving you the opportunity to drag and reposition your cover photo after you upload it.

Aquascape Inc on Facebook

You can also add text to your photos before uploading them, however, Facebook has some restrictions on what type of text you can add. For example, you can’t promote a sale with your cover photo, but you can add a quote or similar.

For more information, read Facebook’s guidelines on cover photos.

12 responses to “Why You Should Change Your Facebook Cover Photo

  1. This design is steller! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d definitely donate to this brilliant blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to new updates and will
    talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  3. you’re in reality a excellent webmaster. The web site loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve
    performed a magnificent job on this matter!

  4. Thanks for some other wonderful article. The place
    else may just anyone get that kind of info in
    such a perfect means of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am at the look for such information.

  5. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and
    look forward to seeking more of your magnificent
    post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  6. As you progress with your training the adjustable dumbbell sets will give you
    more flexibility because you can keep adding weight
    as you need it. Nothing if you got a lot of room or you can afford them.
    Health and fitness are significant aspects in any persons life.

  7. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back
    frequently!

  8. This paragraph will assist the internet people for
    building up new website or even a weblog from start to end.

  9. We stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I might
    as well check things out. I like what I see so i am
    just following you. Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  10. With havin so much content and articles do
    you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either
    written myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot
    of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission.
    Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being stolen?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  11. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and
    look forward to seeking more of your magnificent
    post for more facebook cover
    watch herefacebook timeline covers

  12. i realized that photo was not good at all

Leave a Reply

